Design Museum: London - design, architecture and fashion.

Christopher Brooke and Bruno Basso. Photo Chloe de Carvalho.

Christopher Brooke and Bruno Basso. Photo Chloe de Carvalho.

Image from Uzbekistan, credit Chloe de Carvalho.

Image from Uzbekistan, credit Chloe de Carvalho.

Image from Uzbekistan, credit Chloe de Carvalho.

Image from Uzbekistan, credit Chloe de Carvalho.

Basso & Brooke

Designers (1979- + 1983-)
Basso & Brooke - Adventures on the Silk Road, 16 June - 24 August 2010

The fashion duo Christopher Brooke and Bruno Basso established the label Basso & Brooke in 2002, gaining worldwide reputation in 2004 after winning the Fashion Fringe Award, as well as the Elle Style Best New Designer Award in 2006. Since 2005 they have maintained a regular presence within the international fashion scene, showing their collections at London Fashion Week as well as in Moscow, Sao Paulo, Singapore and Shanghai. Bruno was born in Brazil and trained in graphic art, and Christopher was born Nottingham, training in fashion design. Their individual backgrounds have developed into a confident and signature style recognized for the application of digital print within textiles.

The graphic prints tend to be the most striking aspect of the garments and their interest in new applications in digital print pushes the aesthetic. Through the fabric they style and couple basic patterns with more elaborate designs, creating a unique vibrancy which reflects the combination of the two designer’s cultural backgrounds. These patterns and prints also tend to be inspired by different cultures, for example Spring Summer ‘09 collection echoed Japanese culture, with motifs and floral print tailored on a sheer and delicate choice of fabric.

In October 2009 Basso & Brooke spent ten days on a research tour of Uzbekistan, commissioned by the British Council and coinciding with Uzbek Fashion Week. During their tour they spent three days working with weavers at the Yodgorlik Silk Mill in the Fergana Valley in Uzbekistan. They were joined by Ruth Greany, textile designer at Woven Studio, who worked with Basso & Brooke to design unique black and white Ikat prints which have been produced exclusively for them. All of the fabrics were digitally printed, in the pair’s characteristic style and incorporated into a collection inspired by their experiences in Uzbekistan.

The label has worked with the Italian manufacturing company Aeffi. They have also collaborated with Turning Leaf Wines to create a bespoke range of furniture and home accessories, ranging from a drinks cabinet to silk cushions. Each item draws influence from the palette of the Californian wine-makers vineyards, and demonstrates couples colourful flair and trademark digitally printed silk technique.


In 2009 Basso & Brooke were nominated for the Brit Insurance Design of the Year for their Spring Summer ‘09 collection.
16 June - 24 August 2010 Basso & Brooke - Adventures on the Silk Road exhibition in the Design Museum Tank and atrium.


Basso & Brooke website

Design at the Design Museum

Basso & Brooke Coca-Cola &made Oscar Medley Whitfield + Harry Trimble Tomás Alonso Aluminium Pascal Anson Ron Arad Archigram Assa Ashuach Solange Azagury - Partridge Shin + Tomoko Azumi Maarten Baas Georg Baldele Luis Barragán Saul Bass Mathias Bengtsson Sebastian Bergne Tim Berners-Lee Flaminio Bertoni Jurgen Bey Biba Derek Birdsall Manolo Blahnik Leopold + Rudolf Blaschka Andrew Blauvelt Penguin Books Irma Boom Tord Boontje Ronan + Erwan Bouroullec Marcel Breuer Daniel Brown Robert Brownjohn Isambard Kingdom Brunel R. Buckminster Fuller Sam Buxton Fernando + Humberto Campana Matthew Carter Achille Castiglioni Wells Coates Paul Cocksedge Joe Colombo Committee Hilary Cottam matali crasset Michael Cross + Julie Mathias Joshua Davis Christian Dior Tom Dixon Doshi Levien Christopher Dresser Droog Charles + Ray Eames Ergonomics Luis Eslava Established and Sons Industrial Facility Alan Fletcher Norman Foster FUEL Future Systems John Galliano Abram Games Giles Gilbert Scott Ernö Goldfinger Kenneth Grange Graphic Thought Facility Konstantin Grcic The Guardian Martí Guixé Stuart Haygarth Ambrose Heal Thomas Heatherwick Simon Heijdens Jamie Hewlett James Irvine Alec Issigonis Arne Jacobsen Jaguar James Jarvis Nadine Jarvis Experimental Jetset Craig Johnston Hella Jongerius Kerr Noble Onkar Singh Kular Max Lamb Lawrence Lek Julia Lohmann Ross Lovegrove Berthold Lubetkin M/M Finn Magee Enzo Mari Peter Marigold Michael Marriott The MARS Group Aston Martin J. Mays Müller+Hess Edward McKnight Kauffer Alexander McQueen Matthias Megyeri David Mellor Mevis en Van Deursen Reginald Mitchell Maureen Mooren + Daniel van der Velden Eelko Moorer Jasper Morrison Jean Muir Khashayar Naimanan Yugo Nakamura Marc Newson Isamu Noguchi norm Chris O'Shea Foreign Office Architects Verner Panton James Paterson Phyllis Pearsall Charlotte Perriand Frank Pick Amit Pitaru Plywood Gio Ponti Cedric Price Jean Prouvé Ernest Race Charles Rennie Mackintosh Rockstar Games Richard Rogers Stefan Sagmeister Freyja Sewell Jerszy Seymour Percy Shaw Hiroko Shiratori Tim Simpson Cameron Sinclair Alison + Peter Smithson Constance Spry Superstudio Yuri Suzuki Ed Swan Richard Sweeney Timorous Beasties Philip Treacy Jop van Bennekom Sarah van Gameren Viable Matthew Williamson Ben Wilson Robert Wilson Philip Worthington Frank Lloyd Wright Michael Young
Return to the Design Museum website